Posted in Emotions, Grace, Rant, White Knight

Only Human

I’ve been feeling this one a lot lately. I’m a strong woman who can take a lot. The problem with strong people is you never know what straw is going to break the camel’s (my) back. For those who are on the weaker side, no criticism or judgment intended, but people are more careful with you. Because we are aware of your sensitivities and limits, those who know and love you, also know your limits. Short of abuse, unusual stress or neglect, those limits are respected by the people who matter in your life. For those of us who are naturally strong, we take it and take it and take it some more, soldiering on supporting everyone around us even as inside, we’re running on empty, hiding our worries and fears. When’s it my turn? Is there someone (short of God) who can be strong for me for a while? ‘Cause I’m tired and there’s no end in sight.

ONLY HUMAN – Christina Perri
http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=only+human+perri&FORM=VIRE6#view=detail&mid=93C524A9685001F1099893C524A9685001F10998

*This is the live version. Less polish more realness.

I can hold my breath
I can bite my tongue
I can stay awake for days
If that’s what you want
Be your number one
I can fake a smile
I can force a laugh
I can dance and play the part
If that’s what you ask
Give you all I am

I can do it. I can do it. I can do it

But I’m only human
And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human
And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart
You build me up and then I fall apart
I’m only human, yeah

I can turn it on
Be a good machine
I can hold the weight of worlds
If that’s what you need
Be your everything

I can do it. I can do it. I’ll get through it

But I’m only human
And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human
And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart
You build me up and then I fall apart
I’m only human, yeah

I’m only human
I’m only human
Just a little human
I can take so much
Until I’ve had enough

Author:

Loving Life!

Leave a Reply

